FormSpring.me Freedom To CyberBully Anonymously

I believe that FormSpring is a Broken Spring.

This is just blowing me away…Here is a recent quote pulled from a young Central Pa. girl’s Formspring account “bitch you ain’t fooling anyone. you act like you can beat everyone up in Town Name Removed when you fucking can’t. so stfu and kill yourself:):):)):):):):)”.  This is just a sample of the garbage I have been reading as I have been researching FormSpring.

Really, this is unbelievable that children would want to subject themselves to this abuse.  This girl may have been 14 at the time this comment / question was being posed to her.  She is 15 now, after digging around a bit more.

Most recently a 14 year old Jamey Rodemeyer, of Buffalo, NY, had taken his life.  In one of his videos he mentioned that he wished he had not created a FormSpring account due to the abuse he took on there.  There have been other instances of FormSpring being mentioned, as in Alexis Pilkington’s suicide.  Alexis apparently received hundreds of nasty and demeaning comments and questions on her FormSpring account.  Another account of abuse at the hands of CyberBullies on FormSpring is Natasha MacBryde.  I can find many more I am sure.  These 3 children are no longer with us due to Suicide witch is being renamed to “Bullycide” due to Bullying and CyberBullying attributing to the end result.  Bullying and CyberBullying may not be the root cause, but I believe it is the straw that breaks the camel’s back.

I always find myself blogging when I notice that some are not really taking this type of incident seriously enough.  I just don’t understand it.  No one wants to be an alarmist, no one wants to say epidemic fine I understand that, but when you have children dying something a bit more drastic has to be put into action.  When some “Experts” are saying you know things are getting better, the numbers are coming down…all that does is make the lawmakers believe they don’t have to go out of their way to put together maybe a Bill / Law that might curb Bullying / CyberBullying.  Kids are dying, what more of an urgency do we need?

If there are laws in place that give school districts a bit more strength to fight with then maybe things will look better.  I believe that school districts are to fixated on looking at the bottom line anymore.  Something needs to change.  I know Bullying can’t be stopped, I am not that naive, but we have to be able to curb it some.

I just love it when I hear a School District Administrator say they can’t do anything about Bullying or CyberBullying when it happens outside of school hours and or school property.  Do they just think that the problem just goes away when kids get into the school during school hours?  Some of the policies I have seen is that a school district will do something if it meets their criteria of being a distraction to the school at large.  Well that is just dandy for the individual who is setting in the classroom being disrupted inside, because he or she is suffering the anxiety of wondering what is being put online about them next or what kids are saying to them on the way to and from school.  The kids / Bullies are smart, they know that the school’s policies have no teeth outside of the school.  This is where we as a Community have to push on our Legislatures to give the schools the ability to provide for some sort of punishment for kids that are Bullying and CyberBullying others.

Children do not have the mental maturity to handle these 24/7 relentless attacks on them.  For those who can not handle it, they are the ones we read about as having committed suicide.  For the “Experts” what is that magic number where you consider Bullying and CyberBullying a very serious problem?  With all these numbers going down but the death toll rising, I am thoroughly confused.  Actually I am not confused at all, this is a serious risk to our children, if you don’t think so ask those loved ones left behind.

FormSping.me is a site that is making money from advertising and such on their site.  They may not have intended on the site to go the way it has, but it has gone that route.  I have looked through many accounts on there and am just flabbergasted by the questions asked of the children.  Example at the beginning of this blog, is just a very small taste of what I have seen there.  Create an account and browse around for yourself.  You will see the cesspool of garbage being thrown at the kids and I suppose we are expected to just set back and let it happen.  Our children will have to put up with garbage all their lives, we should do what we can to protect them while they are young.  I guaranty that if FormSpring took away the ability to anonymously submit questions / comments the abuse would drop dramatically.  Would kids just make up user accounts and the like to abuse? Yes, but the more work you make it for them the less likely it will be as rampant as it presently is.

Leave a comment